A summer dip…

A summer dip

Wow is ever hot!

How hot is it?

It’s so hot:

    Even the sun was looking for some shade!

    the trees are whistling’ for the dogs.

    You learn that a seat belt buckle makes a pretty good branding iron.

    my thermometer goes up to “Are you kidding me”

    It’s so hot I burn my tongue telling it?

    It’s like living in the french fry bin at McDonalds.

    It’s so hot, I can roast marshmallows on my belly

    It was so hot today I saw a funeral procession pull into a Dairy Queen.

    Enough with the lame jokes.

    On a serious note for you skeptics out there, which I will admit I was one of, there are still good people in this world.

    My wife and I have been the recipient of one of the most generous and unselfish acts of true charity I have ever heard of.

    There are still good people out there doing God’s work and I cannot put into words how much we are grateful for this act of true charity.

    Every summer the neighborhood church holds a church camp and they try to instill in there young men and women the value of giving and charity. This summer my wife and I have been blessed to receive this help. The older church members do the more dangerous work and then the teens come in and do work like landscaping and painting.

    This week in over 90 degree heat our roof has been covered with people that don’t even know me re-shingling our home and next week the teenagers are coming in to paint and landscape. These teens hold bake sales and carwashes to pay for the building supplies and some are donated by building suppliers.

    I don’t know why God and this church has chosen us for this good deed but I do know how grateful my wife and I are.

    I plan to do a photo blog documenting these good people hard at work and I will post a link here.

    Their church has a website:http://www.restorationtemple.org/

    Thank you to all that have helped. May God bless you as he has blessed me.
    Lonnie

5 thoughts on “A summer dip…

  1. Random acts of kindness. I am sure you deserve this. Think about what kindness you have done in your life, God is thanking you for those things now that you need some help.

  2. Because those who work to instill beauty in the lives of others, and who live with such appreciation of those around them, must truly be good of heart and deserving of this help.

    Best to you Lonnie.

    PS Offer them cool drinks and the opportunity to sit in the shade if they get too hot (or use the facilities) and you will earn their gratitude. As one who worked construction for years, I can tell you thes little courtesies make a huge difference. Course, knowing you, you already offered them this and cookies and lunch! lol

  3. “there are still good people in this world” There are indeed Lonnie and you surely deserve this! I’m very happy for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

